BRISTOL CORN AND FEED TRADE ASSOCIATION LTD

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on Thursday 11th May 2023 starting at 11.15am at J24, Sedgemoor Auction Centre, Market Way, North Petherton, Somerset TA6 6DF

Meeting chaired by Daniel Hughes, President until agenda item 5 after which Eric Thomas President-Elect chaired the meeting. Minutes taken by Victoria Bywater, Secretary.

24 Member Companies represented with apologies received from 7 Member Companies.

1. The President opened the meeting at 11.30hrs.

The President confirmed that notice had been given to Member Companies via email that the Annual General Meeting (AGM) of members would take place at 11.30am on Thursday 11th May 2023 at Junction 24, Sedgemoor Auction Centre, Market Way, North Petherton, Somerset TA6 6DF on Friday 14th April 2023 with a subsequent reminder sent on Thursday 4th May 2023 for the purposes of transacting the business as per the notice of the meeting.

2. MINUTES OF THE MEETING HELD ON 17th MAY 2022

On a proposal of the Mark Cox (Trouw Nutrition GB) and seconded Neil Richardson (Humphrey Feeds & Pullets Ltd) the minutes of the previous AGM were approved as a true record, all agreed.

3. ANNUAL REPORT

The President confirmed that the Annual Report had been sent to all member companies as part of the notice of the meeting.

On the proposal of Eric Thomas, Vice-President (Wynnstay Group plc), seconded by Paul Roberts (AB Nutrition) the Annual Report was unanimously approved.

4. ANNUAL ACCOUNTS

The President confirmed the accounts as produced by Bishop Fleming LLP had been circulated with the notice of the meeting to all member companies' representatives.

As no questions were raised, Paul Roberts (AB Nutrition Ltd.) proposed the adoption of the annual accounts, seconded by Mark Budd (Verriere & Co (Bristol) Ltd.) and were unanimously approved.

5. **ELECTION OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE**

The President thanked Norman Patterson (AB Agri Ltd) and Neil Chapman (Thomas Mawer Ltd) who have retired from the Executive Committee during the year. Norman joined the Executive Committee at the AGM in 2021. Neil served the Executive Committee for many years and in that time his insights and knowledge gained from a successful career have proven extremely valuable in the continued success of the organisation.

The President noted Neil's valued contribution being able to be relied upon to consistently give an independent view, aways with the long term success of the BCFTA in the forefront.

The President sincerely thanked Neil for selecting him as Vice-President, and affording him an opportunity he has thoroughly enjoyed.

On behalf of the BCFTA Executive Committee and BCFTA, The President wished both every success in their retirement.

The President confirmed he had really enjoyed his time as President and it had been fantastic to work alongside Victoria Bywater, Secretary and her team at the start of a new era for BCFTA with some real strides made in taking the Association forward he hoped was something the Member Companies have noticed and will continue to notice in the coming years.

The President then handed the meeting over to Victoria Bywater, Secretary to oversee the election of the new President.

Election of President

Victoria Bywater, Secretary confirmed that the nomination from the Executive Committee for the role of President was Eric Thomas (Wynnstay Group plc).

On the proposal of Ian Eastwood (Cefetra), seconded by James Reeson (Bristol Port Company, Eric Thomas (Wynnstay Group plc) was unanimously elected President.

Victoria Bywater, Secretary passed the chair to the newly elected President to continue the meeting.

The President thanked everyone for attending the meeting and particularly those who had come some distance and gave his apologies if anyone had trouble understanding his Brizzol accent.

The President sincerely thanked the Association for the honour of becoming President and he noted that he intend to carry on the traditions values and work of the Corn trade to the best of his ability.

The President thanked Daniel Hughes, immediate past-President for his years in office whice due to the Covid 19 pandemic had been almost four years but throughout he had striven purposefully during that period along with Victoria to ensure as many of the Trades functions carried on as near normal as possible. Four years whilst still running Prime Molasses is a huge achievement and an onerous task.

Election of Vice-President

The President confirmed that the nomination from the Executive Committee for the role of Vice-President was James Reeson (Bristol Port Company).

On the proposal of the President, seconded by Paul Roberts (AB Nutrition Ltd.), James Reeson (Bristol Port Company). was unanimously elected Vice-President.

The President thanked James Reeson (Bristol Port Company) as a very long-standing member of the Executive Committee for agreeing to accept the role of Vice-President and for all the help he and Bristol Port Company have given to the Association in the past.

Election of Executive Committee

The President confirmed that on rotation Andrew Davies (Harpers Feeds Ltd.) and Neil Richardson (Humphrey Feeds & Pullets Ltd.) retire from the Executive Committee under the three-year rule but offer themselves for re-election.

On the proposal of Mark Cox (Trouw Nutrition GB), seconded by Ian Eastwood (Cefetra), Andrew Davies (Harpers Feeds Ltd.) and Neil Richardson (Humphrey Feeds & Pullets Ltd.) were unanimously re-elected to the Executive Committee.

The President confirmed that at the April 2023 meeting of the Executive Committee, the Executive Committee co-opted Lewis Cottey (ADM Agriculture Ltd.) and Tasha Pugh (Thomas Mawer Ltd.) to the Executive Committee. Lewis Cottey (ADM Agriculture Ltd.) and Tasha Pugh (Thomas Mawer Ltd.) now offer themselves for election to the Executive Committee.

On the proposal of Daniel McCreadie (Mole Valley Farmers Ltd.) seconded by Ian Eastwood (Cefetra), Lewis Cottey (ADM Agriculture Ltd.) and Tasha Pugh (Thomas Mawer Ltd.) were unanimously elected to the Executive Committee.

6. APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT EXAMINERS

The President proposed Bishop Fleming LLP to be appointed as Independent Examiners for 2023, seconded by Matthew Tickle (Dugdale Nutrition Ltd.), all approved.

7. TO CONSIDER THE FOLLOWING INCREASE IN MEMBERSHIP SUBSCRIPTION FEES FROM 1ST JANUARY 2024 AS FOLLOWS:

Type of	Current	Current	Proposed	Proposed
membership	application fee	annual fee	application fee	annual fee
Full	£200	£200	£200	£275
Associate	£200	£150	£200	£200
Individual	£100	£100	No change	No change

The President confirm that the nomination from Executive Committee is to increase the annual fee for Full Membership from £200 to £275; to increase the annual fee for Associate Membership from £150 to £200 and for there to be no change for Individual Membership and proposed this increase, seconded by Mark Budd (Verriere & Co (Bristol) Ltd.), all agreed.

ANY OTHER BUSINESS

There being no further items pertinent to the AGM President closed the meeting at 11.31hrs.